30 Countries Memoirs – Netherlands

Country: Netherlands

First Visit: June 2007

Number of Times Visited: 1

Cities Visited: Amsterdam

Favorite Memory: Although I probably could have died, my favourite memory in Amsterdam was the day we rented bikes to ride through one of Europe’s most bike friendly cities.  Back in 2007 I was not as experienced of a cyclist as I am now, and I was somewhat timid.  Alex and Tom were bombing along, hopping curbs with no problem, but I wasn’t quite as brave.  At one point they dashed ahead to beat an oncoming tram across a street, I tried, but ended up getting my tires stuck in the tram tracks and fell over.  Luckily the tram slowed down and I was able to get my bike out of the way, a little more embarrassed and determine to become a better rider!

Other Highlights:

  • What would a visit to the Netherlands be without a trip through the Red Light district? We definitely took part in a few such strolls, and it was something else to see all these women from all corners of the globe displaying themselves in their neon lit window.  We definitely did not enter any rooms, although some of the women definitely tried to convince us.  The one I remember most was one rather large lady who chased after Alex down the street yelling: “Hey Chicken boy!  Come back and chat!”  We walked pretty fast out of there.
  • To accommodate the large number of tourists in Amsterdam who get the munchies after visiting one of the many coffee shops, there are many fast food vending machines in Amsterdam, and from what I recall, the food dispensed by them was pretty tasty.
  • Running in to a childhood friend of mine named Dave in the lobby of the hostel we were staying in. Dave puts my travels to shame, being an official member of the Travelers’ Century Club, he has been living abroad basically none stop for 8 years or so, and 2 of the 3 times I have seen him in the past decade have been in Europe on chance encounters.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

30 Countries Memoirs

3 thoughts on “30 Countries Memoirs – Netherlands

  1. I love biking! To be honest, because I stopped running, it’s hard to take it up again because it makes my knees hurt. Biking is such a great alternative.

    I’ve been seeing a lot of posts about Amsterdam and now, I’m itching to go. Where are the vacation days when you need them!? Ah right, spent in bed sleeping. LOL.

    PS: I hope you don’t mind if I steal a bit of your time and ask you to fill out this survey. http://ohcarlaloo.com/2015/05/06/got-time-for-a-survey-and-some-20/ It’s for my grad school thesis on travel accommodations, particularly on hostels. I wouldn’t really ask, I know it’s an imposition but I have to gather responses from non-Filipinos and well, I could really use your help. I promise it won’t take more than a couple of minutes. Thank you very much! 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Introduction | Kevin's Corner

  3. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Brazil | Kevin's Corner

Leave a Reply

