Daily Writing – Evaluation

Another month is past and another monthly challenge has been completed.  As I thought, I wasn’t quite able to write every single day of the month, but I did pretty well.  All told I was able to complete my 30 minutes of writing 23/30 days this month, and in that time I wrote a total of 16,202 words.

There were a few days where I was travelling and busy from sunrise to sundown without a good time to dedicate to writing.  There were also a few other days where my nights were booked up all evening, so from the time I got home from work I just wasn’t able to make it work.  However, I think 80% is a pretty good success ratio, and if I can keep that up going forward I will be quite happy.

So what have I learned from this experience?

  • When I apply myself and consciously make the time and effort to write, I can get into a state pretty quickly where the words just roll off of my fingers. It doesn’t matter if I am at home, visiting family or sitting on a plane, I just have to get started and the words will come.
  • Getting started is the toughest part about writing, but even on the days where I thought I had some bad writer’s block, if I just started writing about a random topic, more coherent words generally flowed out pretty quickly.
  • Having a plan definitely helps. One of the big projects I tackled with my daily writing was drafting blog posts about every country I have visited in my life, which will be released daily over the month of May.  I had a template for each post to follow, and that definitely helps with formatting and consistency from one post to another.

How will my writing habits change going forward?

I am definitely going to strive to make daily writing a regular part of my daily and weekly routine.  I don’t think I’ll be able to do it every day, but 4-5 times per week should be a breeze, and that will be 2-3 more times per week than I have been doing the last while.

Leave a Reply

