30 Countries Memoirs – Introduction

Flag Collage

On May 30th this year I will be celebrating my 30th birthday, and will be doing so in Copenhagen, Denmark.  That trip (which will span five countries from May 22 through June 8) will also see me visit my 30th country in my life.

Munich, Germany - 2007

Munich, Germany – 2007

Back when I was first really bitten by the travel bug in 2007 I set a personal goal for myself to visit 30 countries by my 30th birthday.  I have been fortunate to visit at least one new country every year since then except for 2008 and 2014, and now am on the verge of completing my goal.  To celebrate and memorialize this personal milestone, I have decided to write a blog post about each country I have visited as a sort of travel memoir.  This is mostly for my own benefit, but I thought I would share with the world for anyone who is interested in reading about my travels.

Sydney, Australia - 2009 (With Alex, Tom & Shane)

Sydney, Australia – 2009 (With Alex, Tom & Shane)

For my methodology I count a country as visited when I spend time there outside of an airport or train station and stay at least one night.  The one exception to this rule is the Vatican City, which you cannot spend a night in unless you are a member of the Catholic Clergy.  I did spend about five hours there touring the Vatican, and since you can’t sleep there, I consider that to be included as I did visit and would have stayed a night had I been able.

Iguazu Falls, Argentina - 2011

Iguazu Falls, Argentina – 2011

I will be publishing one post per day starting on May 1, leading up to my Birthday on May 30, which is when I will cross from country 29 (Sweden) into country 30 (Denmark).  Because I will be visiting Denmark on my birthday and a few days after, I won’t get that post up until early June, but I think that can be forgiven!

Machu Picchu, Peru - 2012 (With Megan)

Machu Picchu, Peru – 2012 (With Megan)

If you are interested in reading along, please check back on the blog each day when a new post will be posted.  Or if you prefer, you can subscribe to the blog to be notified of each new post and read them in your inbox!

Oktoberfest 2013 in Munich, Germany

Oktoberfest 2013 in Munich, Germany

Here is the list of all of the countries:

North America (5)

Europe (20)

Oceania (1)

South America (4)

  • Brazil
  • Uruguay
  • Argentina
  • Peru
25 thoughts on “30 Countries Memoirs – Introduction

  1. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – USA | Kevin's Corner

  2. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Mexico | Kevin's Corner

  3. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Cuba | Kevin's Corner

  4. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – England | Kevin's Corner

  5. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – France | Kevin's Corner

  6. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Spain | Kevin's Corner

  7. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Italy | Kevin's Corner

  8. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Vatican City | Kevin's Corner

  9. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Greece | Kevin's Corner

  10. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Germany | Kevin's Corner

  11. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Czech Republic | Kevin's Corner

  12. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Netherlands | Kevin's Corner

  13. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Belgium | Kevin's Corner

  14. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Australia | Kevin's Corner

  15. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Dominican Republic | Kevin's Corner

  16. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Brazil | Kevin's Corner

  17. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Uruguay | Kevin's Corner

  18. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Argentina | Kevin's Corner

  19. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Hungary | Kevin's Corner

  20. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Poland | Kevin's Corner

  21. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Peru | Kevin's Corner

  22. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Croatia | Kevin's Corner

  23. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Slovenia | Kevin's Corner

  24. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Slovakia | Kevin's Corner

  25. Pingback: 30 Countries Memoirs – Austria | Kevin's Corner

Leave a Reply

