Take a Minute Tuesday – Jan 13, 2015

In our increasingly fast paced world it seems like we never have enough time to spend with those we love or to get the important things done.  I’ve found that when I stop thinking and procrastinating and instead start acting, even for a few minutes, I get much more accomplished than I otherwise would have.  What a concept eh?

This is why I have created “Take a Minute Tuesdays” here as a regular feature on Kevin’s Corner, to give myself and you readers a small weekly action you can complete to enhance your life or the lives of those around you.

Take a minute to take a deep breath

A New Year often brings with it a large list of things you want to accomplish over the next 12 months.  I think Goals are great for everyone to have, so this isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  However, many people can quickly start to become very anxious about all of the things they have to do, ratcheting up their stress levels and causing general anxiety.

To combat these feelings I suggest you take a minute or two, sit somewhere quiet and comfortable, close your eyes and take a few deep breaths.  As you breathe in and out try to focus your mind on the act and feeling of breathing and nothing else, and let your stresses and worries melt away.  Doesn’t that feel nice?

Now I’m certainly not saying that taking a few deep breaths will solve all of your fears, worries and sources of anxiety.  However, I have found over the past few months as I have explored deep breathing and meditation, that this really does help me calm my nerves and relax.  Hopefully it can do the same thing for you!

This simple act of focused, deep breathing is the basis of most meditation techniques, and as I mentioned, something I have found quite useful for myself.  If you are interested in learning more, here are a few books and blogs I would suggest if you are interested in learning more about Mindfulness and Meditation:

Have a great Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

