No Alcohol Challenge – Evaluation

October is now in the books, I successfully completed the challenge and made it through the month without drinking a drop of alcohol!

So what have I learned from this experience?

  • As with anything, by consciously not drinking for the month you really do notice how prevalent alcohol is in our culture. Whether it be beers after work, wine at dinner, or cocktails before a show, pretty much wherever you go socially, there will be alcohol. And oftentimes there is societal pressure to join in the drinking. I certainly gained a new respect for people who choose not to drink, it’s definitely not the easiest thing to do.
  • It is amazing how quickly your alcohol tolerance changes. I was out celebrating Halloween with my friends last night, and once the clock struck midnight, I did celebrate the completion of my challenging by having two beers. Walking home from the bar I did feel fairly tipsy, and this morning when I woke up I did have a bit of a hangover. I definitely didn’t miss that feeling!
  • By not going out to the bar as much I definitely saved money, not only from not buying drinks, but also from not buying food, paying for taxis, etc. That combined with the fact that I didn’t do any travelling in October, made October my lowest spending month of 2014.

How will my drinking habits change going forward?

  • I will not be swearing off alcohol for good. I do enjoy having a glass of wine with dinner from time to time, or a few beers with my friends on the weekend. However, I am going to opt to switch to water, or head home to bed earlier more often than I have in the past.

Doing the no alcohol challenge was definitely a good cleanse for my body, and although it’s hard to describe, I do feel a bit more fresh and clear of mind not having consumed any alcohol for the month. I think I will do this again in the future, but for now I will stick to the age old mantra of “Everything in Moderation” when it comes to drinking, at least most of the time!

Leave a Reply

