What I am Thankful For

Thanksgiving is a time for us to reflect and give thanks for all that is good in our lives. Given what happened downtown Saturday night, and the fact that I am currently homeless, I thought it would be a great time to share what I am most thankful for this Thanksgiving.

I am thankful for my amazing family and friends.  I actually first found out about the power outage downtown from my Aunt, who gave me a call to check up on me and see if I needed anything.  Once we determined we wouldn’t be going home Saturday night, Megan’s family was quick to offer us a place to stay.  I am extremely fortunate to have such great relationships with my family and friends and know they will always be there to offer support when needed.

I am thankful that I live in one of the greatest cities in the world. With about 5,000 people currently out of power downtown, many city employees are giving up their long weekends to work to fix the problem as fast as they can.  Also, the broader community is rallying to support anyone in need at this time, just checkout #yycthanks on twitter!  The citizens of Calgary always amaze me with our generosity and support for one another in times of need.

I am thankful that I live in a free and democratic society with excellent social institutions and a stable government. Sure we might gripe from time to time about a government decision we don’t totally agree with, but at the end of the day we are all extremely lucky to live in a great country like Canada where rights and freedoms are cherished and protected for us all to enjoy.  A quick scan of the global headlines should show you just how fortunate we are.

I am thankful that I am healthy and in good shape. Every day I take a moment to give thanks for the fact that I am of sound body and mind.  I know there are many people in Canada and around the world who are not so fortunate.  I’ll continue to work hard at any opportunity given to raise money for medical research that can improve the lives of those who are affected by medical conditions such as cancer and ALS.

To sum it up, it could be much worse than having to spend a few days away from home due to a power outage, and I am very thankful it is not. And with that, I wish all of my readers a happy Thanksgiving, and hope you all take some time to reflect on what you are thankful for this year as you enjoy some great food with those close to you.  Gobble Gobble!

One thought on “What I am Thankful For

Leave a Reply

